The Crown by Kiera Cass

 

Book: The Crown

Author: Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection

Goodreads

Synopsis:

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

First off, I have to say how gorgeous the covers for the entire Selction series are. I love the dresses and the colours and while each one is unique, they all clearly belong to the same series.  Seriously amazing cover choices.

I really liked the first three Selection books; I pretty much devoured them.  So I was  excited to find out there were another two books, and I appreciated the fact that the focus of the last two books was Eadlyn, so the series didn’t get stale rehashing the same things over and over.

But then the series did get a little stale for me. The final two books just didn’t have the same excitement that the first two were filled with, and Eadlyn didn’t exactly grow on me.

I liked The Heir, it was The Bachelorette to The Selection’s The Bachelor, with new characters to get to know and a whole crop of eligible bachelors to root for.  This new spin is exactly how The Bachelor has kept me tuning in season after season. However the wealth of choices of likeable characters in Eadlyn’s group of Selected made it difficult to predict who she would end up with, and leaves the reader knowing the chances of your favourite ship making it to the end are a lot slimmer.

I went in to The Crown with a frontrunner in mind, and as the book continued he remained my number one choice. I’m going to try and avoid spoilers as best I can and I’ll just say, my choice didn’t win. I wasn’t surprised by the person who did win, and I didn’t mind the way Eadlyn’s story ended. It just wasn’t what I was hoping for. Further, I felt like the relationship went from 0 to 60 in about 5 seconds and there wasn’t as much development as I would have liked to have seen.

All in all, I think this was a bit of a let-down after the first three books (I liked the fourth one but it seemed like it was a build-up for the final book, but nothing actually really happened).  I’m glad to have read it but perhaps all that was really needed to finish up The Selection series was an epilogue to The One.

d3695-c

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

