Thanks to Vicki of cosybooks.com for tagging me in the rapid fire book tag!
Ebooks or physical books?

I’m almost ashamed to admit this but I LOVE my Kindle. I never thought I’d become an e-book convert but now I would struggle without my kindle. It’s so convenient! I can take my entire book collection with me anywhere (no more need to take 2 books in my handbag in case I finish one). I can borrow books from the library without leaving the house, or make a purchase in bed and it’s ready to read automatically. And no more fiddling with book lights for bedtime reading thanks to the creation of the kindle paperwhite. I still love physical books and I do miss the feel and smell of a real book, but I just don’t have the room to store a physical book collection these days.

Paperback or hardback?

Hardbacks are beautiful, and I absolutely loved my prized collection of Harry Potter hardbacks. But for every day reading, paperbacks are much easier and you don’t have to worry about ruining the beautiful book jackets.

Online or in-store book shopping?

Online for convenience. But nothing beats browsing through a book store and discovering new books.

Trilogies or series?

Trilogies. I like series, but they can be too long and I get a little bored. I read the The House of Night series in November/December/January, and while I thought it was pretty interesting, it was 12 books long and it felt like too much time to dedicate to one book series.

Heroes or villains?

Heroes, though I think it takes more skill to write a really convincing villain that you love to hate.

A book you want everyone to read?

The Time Traveler’s Wife. Other than the Harry Potter series, this is my all-time favourite book.

Recommend an underrated book.

The Firebird series by Claudia Gray. I recently finished the first book, A Thousand Pieces of You, and loved it. I can’t believe I’d never heard of it before and wonder why more people aren’t talking about it!

The last book you finished?

It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

Maybe a plane ticket. This is not a bookmark but I used to put my kindle in a ziplock bag and then float around the pool reading!

Used books, yes or no?

Yes, I love browsing used book stores!

Borrow or buy?

Buy so I can re-read, though I’ve become a big fan of borrowing from the library – so much more economical!

Characters or plot?

I love being able to relate to the characters.

Long or short book?

Somewhere in the middle. Not too long, not tooo short but just right – Goldilocks books!

Long or short chapters?

Short! They really keep you turning the pages saying “just one more chapter!” over and over. Long chapters usually mean I can only read one chapter before bed.

Name the first three books you think of?

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman by Mindy Mejia

Books that make you laugh or cry?

I have a love hate love relationship with books that make me cry.  Those are the ones that really stick with me.

Our world or fictional worlds?

Fictional worlds, I love getting lost in a new world if the author builds it well.  I also love reading about our world with some sort of twist.

Audiobooks : yes or no?

Yes! Audiobooks are a fairly recent discovery for me and I love them. They make chores, walking, commuting to work etc. so much more enjoyable! In fact – my online shopping was just delivered, excuse me while I go pop in my headphones and put it away! 🙂

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Yep, always. Sorry!

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

I think TV tends to be better, they don’t have the same constraints as a movie when it comes to condensing everything into two hours.

A movie or TV adaptation you preferred over the book?

Maybe Pretty Little Liars. I really enjoyed the books and I liked the way Sara Shepard crafted the story. But the TV series really took on a shape of its own, moving away from the books and running with it and it’s so interesting!

Series or standalone?

This is really hard! I love a good standalone, I like having the closure this comes with it. But when I find a really good book I just want to keep reading and reading!

I don’t know who hasn’t done this yet, so if I’ve tagged you and you’ve already done it (or don’t want to!) feel free to ignore it 🙂

Rather Too Fond of Books

Unconventional Book Reviews

2 thoughts on “

Add yours

  1. I am with you on The House Of Night books. Also, don’t even start the Morganville Vampires! I bought like 10 of them in the Works 3 for £5 but it’s just too big a commitment and I gave them away unread

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

