Top Ten Tuesday: I NEED to Read It!

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where the lovely ladies at The Broke and The Bookish provide a prompt and other lovers of list-making join in on it with their own top ten list. This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Things that Imstantly Make Me Want to Read a Book

1. A gorgeous cover. I know it’s fickle as can be, but I love a good cover and it instantly draws me to a book and makes me want to read it. This method was very successful with A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray, and now I think I’ll want to read anything she writes!

2. An intriguing blurb. Much less fickle than the cover, the blurb on the back on the book is huge. If the premise has me hooked it will go to the very top of my TBR.

3. Time travel. The Time Traveler’s Wife got me hooked. I ❤️ time travel stories. 2 of my all-time favourites fall in to this category.

 

4. Alternate dimensions/parallel universes/what would happen if X was different etc. Anything that’s got a Sliding Doors type theme will grab my attention immediately. I’m fascinated by the concept and will gobble up any books on this topic. Speaking of which I’m always looking for more – any recommendations?


5. Anything written by Melissa Brayden, Lauren Oliver, or Richelle Mead. I have loved anything I’ve ever read by these authors and I always want more! One of these names on a project is a guarantee I will read it.


6. Magic. I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan and I’m always looking for another amazing world of magic. I may not end up liking the book (as with The Magicians) but I will always want to try.

7. Nerdy characters. In some ways I relate and in some ways I just think they’re fantastic.  I love a good loveable dork! 🤓

8. Rave reviews from a fellow bookworm. If someone I trust (my wife, a friend, a book blogger with similar taste) says it’s good, I will definitely want to read it!

9. LGBTQ characters 🏳️‍🌈 The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli and All the Feels by Danita Stone did a great job of including diverse characters in a story in which the characters sexuality was not a main focus. I also love well written lesfic (see anything by Melissa Brayden).


10. Greek mythology.  I LOVE a modern take on the Greek gods and myths!

What makes you instantly want to read a book?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: I NEED to Read It!

Add yours

  1. YES to the nerd love! lol! This is an instant one for me for sure. I also love books with LGBTQ characters, they are some of my favorites. I’m a huge sucker for a pretty book cover. I’ve picked up so many books for that reason. lol Great list

    Like

  2. I totally agree with you about magic! I love reading anything with magic in it! I am starting to read more books with alternate dimensions and parallel universes as well. Greek Mythology and nerdy characters should have been added to my list since I gravitate toward both when it comes to looking for a new book to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love seeing so man people including LGBT+ characters on their lists this week! It’s so exciting that so many people are excited about them. I can’t wait to pick up The Upside of Unrequited. I loved Simon so much, and hearing so many good things about Upside makes me so happy. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

