#Bookreview Good As Gone by Amy Gentry @HQstories

Book: Good As Gone

Author: Amy Gentry

Goodreads

Synopsis:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts. She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

The first time I read the description of this book I knew I needed to read it. As a child, The Face On The Milk Carton was one of my favourite books and this felt a bit like an adult version of a childhood favourite.

I thought the structure of this book was excellent. The chapters jumped between perspectives which gave this book a unique twist, essentially creating two stories in one – one chronological and one in reverse. I can see how this may have confused some people, but personally I thought it was fantastically done and it really gave this book a little something different that I loved.

This book is not without its faults; there were some parts I would like to see a little more fleshed out and I was disappointed with the way Anna appeared to blame Jane. But the good more than made up for the not-quite-as-good.  This was a super fast read and extremely well-written.

I don’t want to get into spoiler territory so I’m going to keep my review short and sweet.  I thought Good As Gone was absolutely gripping and it kept me up late at night because I couldn’t manage to put it down!

One thought on “#Bookreview Good As Gone by Amy Gentry @HQstories

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

