WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Sam at Taking on A World of Words.
To play along, just answer the following three questions…

• What are you currently reading?

• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m currently reading:

I’ve been wanting to read Made You Up for quite some time now, and I finally got the chance to start it last night.  It takes on schizophrenia but so far its not too heavy and just very interesting (and I love a good unreliable narrator!) Although I’ve seen at least one review on goodreads saying it’s an inaccurate depiction of schizophrena so I’m keeping that in mind, but also not letting it get in the way of enjoying the book.  I’m not very far in yet, but so far I’m liking it!  The Glittering Court is a book I’ve been meaning to read for a while, because I love Richelle Mead books (Vampire Academy! Bloodlines! Succubus!) , but I keep putting it off because the premise just wasn’t really grabbing me. This book came from the library right when I was needing a new audiobook, so I decided to finally give it a go.  I’m liking it…but also feeling kind of weird about it.  It’s giving me major Selection vibes…but like, The Selection meets a high class brothel. It’s branded as a fantasy novel but actually gives off more of an alternate historical fiction vibe.

What I recently finished reading

I’m so so sooooo behind in my reviews. And I’m back to work this week so I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed so I’m not sure when I’ll catch up.  Hopefully before I forget everything I read! (I may skip a few, just for sanity’s sake.)

I can’t say enough good things about the Firebird series by Claudia Gray. A Million Worlds With You was the final instalment, and the only one I read rather than listened via audiobook.  It was just as good as the first two, though I did miss the narration! If you haven’t read this series yet, and you like romance and inter-dimensional travel, definitely check it out!

A Study in Charlotte is a modern day take on the Sherlock Holmes mysteries – featuring Sherlock Holmes’ and Dr. Watson’s great-great-great grandchildren! I found it interesting, though I got a bit lost when I didn’t focus well enough (read via audiobook).

Internet Famous is a fun book about a girl with a blog.  A very famous pop culture blog. I enjoyed this book, it was a really fun and fast read! I’m on the blog tour for Internet Famous, so I’ll have my review locked and loaded for the 5th of June.

Maybe in Another Life  was excellent.  I’ve wanted to read it for quite some time and finally got the chance.  I devoured this book.  I love love love stories about parallel lives/the multiverse/what-happens-if-I-make-a-dfferent-choice books, but I’ve found some of the books I’ve read like this lacking. But this book, I loved.

What I plan to read next

bookishly

I think this is the first time I’ve only had one book queued up and ready to go, and I feel very weird about that.  I do have some author submissions that I’ve been meaning to read for a very long time and I feel awful that I haven’t gotten to them yet.  But I just haven’t been in the right mood, and after being off with anxiety and returning to work, I’m trying to lay off anything that might produce more anxiety. So I’m mostly trying to focus on things that don’t have any deadline or expectations and if I never get around to writing a review for it, it won’t matter.  I know I shouldn’t keep putting off these books, and yet I’m still doing it.  Oh well.  I promise I’ll get to them one day!!

 

Have you read any of these books? Do you have any recommendations for my next great audiobook ‘read?’ Have you read any fantastic parallel lives/the multiverse/what-happens-if-I-make-a-dfferent-choice books? I want to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

Add yours

  1. I have Made You Up on my TBR, it sounds like an interesting read. I hope you continue to enjoy it 🙂 Ooh I also have Maybe in Another Life on my TBR and knowing how much you enjoyed it makes me want to read it very, very soon. I’ve not heard of Internet Famous but it sounds great so I’ll make sure to look out for your review on the blog tour next month. Hope you have a fab week of reading ahead 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard great things about Made You Up on Goodreads everywhere, but I’m probably not going to read it since the premise doesn’t really appease to me, tbh. I actually have the author on my radar, because she’s going to publishing a new book soon, that I SO want to read. It’s called Eliza and Her Monsters.

    And, like you, I am SO behind on my reviews. Probably even more than you xD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to read Made You Up! It’s been on my tbr for years, but I somehow never got around to it. I hear Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman is REALLY good as an audiobook!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

